Utah has had a 90-day waiting period for divorce for some time.
This 90-day period means that you have to wait at least 90 days after you file your divorce until it can be finalized.
That is about to change.
The Utah Legislature recently voted to shorten the waiting period from 90 days to 30.
Governor Herbert allowed the bill to become law, even though he did not sign it.
Here will be the new Utah divorce waiting period language:
“Unless the court finds that extraordinary circumstances exist and otherwise orders, no hearing for decree of divorce may be held by the court until 30 days has elapsed from the filing of the complaint, but the court may make interim orders as it considers just and equitable.”
This change will become law, and Utah’s divorce waiting period will change from 90 days to 30 days, on May 8, 2018.
Get A Legal Consultation With An Experienced Utah Attorney
While this website provides general information, it does not constitute divorce advice. The best way to get guidance on your specific legal issue is to contact a lawyer. To schedule a divorce consultation with an attorney, please call or complete the intake form above.
The use of the Internet (or this form) for communication with the firm (or any individual member of the firm) does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.